ACF National Convention a Success

ACF National Convention a Success

The 2013 ACF National Convention was a success with more than 1,500 chefs, cooks, students and foodservice professionals attending the annual event at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Las Vegas, July 21-25. Hosted by ACF Chefs Las Vegas, the convention provided attendees with opportunities to advance their professional development and enhance their culinary skills. Some of this year's presenters included Ming Tsai, chef/owner of Blue Ginger, Wellesley, Mass.; Mary Sue Milliken and Susan Feniger, chefs/owners of Los Angeles-based Border Grill restaurants and Border Grill Truck; Rick Moonen, chef/owner of Rick Moonen's rm seafood, Las Vegas; and Farmer Lee Jones, owner of The Chef's Garden, Huron, Ohio. More

A sincere thank-you to our sponsors and exhibitors whose support was instrumental to our success. Congratulations to all the competition winners and award recipients and honorees for their outstanding contributions and for a job well done.

Below are the 2013 ACF award winners and honorees:

U.S.A.'s Chef of the Year™, sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions
Eddie Tancredi, CEC, corporate chef, Cleveland Restaurant Group, Cleveland; ACF Cleveland Chapter Inc.

ACF Pastry Chef of the Year, sponsored by Plugra® European-Style Butter
Alison Murphy, pastry chef, The Vintage Club, Indian Wells, Calif.; ACF national member

Chef Educator of the Year
Leslie Eckert, CWPC, CCE, MBA, culinary-arts instructor, The International Culinary School at The Art Institute of Tampa, Tampa, Fla.; ACF Tampa Bay Culinary Association, Inc.

Student Chef of the Year, sponsored by Custom Culinary, Inc.
Jaclyn Adamonis, Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill.; ACF Louis Joliet Chapter

Chef Professionalism Award, sponsored by MINOR'S®
James Connolly, CEC, CCA, AAC, divisional director of culinary services for New England, Atria Senior Living Group, Louisville, Ky.; ACF Epicurean Club of Boston

Hermann G. Rusch Chef's Achievement Award
Klaus Friedenreich, CMC, AAC, chef-instructor, Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts in Orlando, Orlando, Fla.; ACF Central Florida Chapter

Student Team National Championship, sponsored by R.L. Schreiber, Inc.
Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill.; ACF Louis Joliet Chapter; Timothy Baran, Jacob Bernard, Joseph Biskie, Vince Cassidy and Amy Gutierrez; Timothy Bucci, CEC, CCE, CHE, coach

Baron H. Galand Culinary Knowledge Bowl, sponsored by American Technical Publishers
Westmoreland County Community College, Youngwood, Pa.; Nicole Cervone, Christina Crouse, Tonia Eisaman, Ryan Moore and Courtney Nalevanko; Carol Baier, CC, coach

ACF National Championship Collegiate Dining Challenge
University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Ind.; Charu Chandra Pant, CEC, ACE, test kitchen chef, and Greg Larson, CEC, unit chef, North Dining Hall

Flavors of the Mediterranean-A Minute® Rice Competition, Sponsored by Riviana® Foods
Cyril Ortigosa-Liaz, third cook, Yale University Catering, New Haven, Conn.; Connecticut Chefs Association

ACF Humanitarian Award
Rick Moonen, chef/owner, Rick Moonen's rm seafood, Las Vegas

ACF Immediate Past President's Award
Mary "Betsy" LaSorella, CEPC, pastry chef-instructor, Midwest Culinary Institute, Cincinnati; Midwest Culinary Institute Faculty Chapter

ACF Industry Partnership Award
NEWCHEF Fashion Inc., Los Angeles

ACF Communicator of the Year
Joseph Gonzales, retired, Beaverton, Ore.; ACF Chefs de Cuisine Society of Oregon

ACF National Chapter of the Year
ACF Philadelphia Delaware Valley Chefs Association, Philadelphia

ACF Region of the Year
ACF Central Region

ACF Heroes Award Recipients

  • Americo DiFronzo, CEC, CCA, AAC, executive chef, Union Oyster House, Boston; ACF Epicurean Club of Boston
  • Lynn Krause, CEPC, AAC, chef, St. Louis; Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis Inc.
  • Jill Mora, professor, College of Southern Nevada, North Las Vegas, Nev. ACF Leadership Award Steve Jilleba, CMC, CCE, AAC, corporate executive chef, Unilever Food Solutions, Lisle, Ill. ACF President's Medallion Recipients
  • Joseph Amabile, CCC, culinary-arts teacher, Newark Public Schools, Newark, N.J.; ACF Northern New Jersey Chapter
  • Gerald Bolton, executive chef, The Oncenter, Syracuse, N.Y.; ACF Syracuse New York Chapter
  • Mark Brown, CEC, CCA, executive chef, The Sanctuary Golf Club, Sanibel Island, Fla.; The Southwest Florida Chapter of the ACF
  • Christopher Koetke, CEC, CCE, MBA, HAAC, vice president, school of culinary arts, Kendall College, Chicago; ACF Windy City Professional Culinarians Inc.
  • Joseph Leonardi, CEC, executive chef, Somerset Club, Boston; ACF Rhode Island Chapter
  • Hubert Schmieder, AAC, retired, Lafayette, Ind.; ACF Greater Indianapolis Chapter
  • Tene Shake, owner, Tene Shake Signature Restaurants, Monterey, Calif., ACF Monterey Bay Chapter
  • George Sideras, CEC, corporate executive chef, Nestle Professional, Solon, Ohio; ACF Greater Dayton Chapter

Cutting Edge Award Recipients

  • Claude Buzon, HAAC, owner, Chef's Hat Inc., Edmonton, Alberta
  • Salvatore Campagna, CEC, HAAC, retired, San Carlos, Calif.; ACF San Francisco Chapter
  • Ronald DeSantis, CMC, AAC, MBA, director of culinary excellence, Yale Dining at Yale University, New Haven, Conn.; Mid Hudson Culinary Association
  • Joseph Hardiman, HAAC, president, Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts in Orlando, Orlando, Fla.; ACF Central Florida Chapter
  • Mary Louise Huebner, HAAC, marketing director/vice president, and Peter Huebner, HAAC, president, Canada Cutlery, Inc., Pickering, Ontario; ACF of Greater Buffalo New York
  • Farmer Lee Jones, owner, The Chef's Garden, Huron, Ohio
  • Donald Miller, CEC, CCE, AAC, executive chef, University of Notre Dame Food Services, Notre Dame, Ind.; ACF South Bend Chefs and Cooks Association
  • Ming Tsai, executive chef/owner, Blue Ginger, Wellesley, Mass.

ACF Achievement of Excellence Awards

  • The Bears' Steakhouse; Duanesburg, N.Y.
  • Chop Stix Restaurant; Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Detroit Athletic Club; Detroit
  • Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse; Chicago
  • Le Coq Au Vin; Orlando, Fla.
  • Old Town Club; Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Orchids at Palm Court; Cincinnati
  • Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks; South Portland, Maine
  • Spiedini Ristorante; Las Vegas
  • Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar; Winston-Salem, N.C.
  • Todd's Unique Dining; Henderson, Nev.

World of Thanks Award
ACF Chefs Las Vegas

Chef & Child Foundation Awards

True Spirit Award
Jacob Williams, CEC, ACF Michigan Chefs de Cuisine